I have a particular client who sometimes makes me wonder is English is her native language (and it is).  For example, I wrote an e-mail asking if she wanted an updated picture on her project.  She responded with: “the grotto is the same as the hot springs so mention of needs deleted”.

I read it twice.

And then closed my laptop and went to sleep.

The next day, I showed “the grotto is the same as the hot springs so mention of needs deleted” to my husband.

He blinked blankly.  “I don’t understand,” he said.

“Me either,” I replied.

“So why not write her back and ask what on earth she meant?”

I grimaced.  “It’s not like that.  I’ve been through this before.  Her response will make me wonder even more, and then I really can’t ask again.”

He laughed.  “Are you worried that she’ll think you’re an idiot?”

No, I’m worried about proving it.  After this, I’m swallowing a tough mouthful of pride and writing back.

And then I think I’ll have some Java Chip Frappuccino ice cream… with my humble pie.

