Growing up on a farm, I saw the ‘circle of life’ with great clarity.

And while many of you may disagree, I am of the unmovable belief that to lose a dog is a far greater tragedy than to lose a cat, turkey, goat, chicken, or cow.

It is possible for a human being to love any animal… but only a dog truly loves you back.

This week, we had to put our old dog down.

We miss her when the doorbell rings, when Doc drops food on the floor, when we walk down the stairs, when we come home, when we eat a meal, when we go on our daily walks, when we go to bed, and when we realize how quiet the house is.  The rest of the time, it’s pretty easy to pretend that she’s asleep on her rug or in her bed or outside to relieve herself.

When Mr. Anonymous came home from the vet (I am so, SO thankful for him), he laid her collar on the kitchen counter.  Usually, my obsessive compulsiveness would have it moved and the counter scrubbed before you could say ‘doggie treat’, but I left it there for days.  I knew that when I picked it up, I would have to accept that she was really gone.  Bea has kept the dog’s water bowl filled all week, and Doc keeps looking around the bottom of his high chair and then up at us at dinner.

But as the famous vet, James Herriot, once wrote about times like these, “It’s best not to wait too long.”

So we’ve begun looking for the next old dog to bring home.  And praying.  The comfort is that there are so many that need to be adopted; we know that something good will come from losing the old girl.

Hopefully, my next entry will be about our new (and furry) addition.

In the meanwhile, I have a collar to frame.

Hope your life has a wonderful canine in it.  Give them an extra pet for me today, will you?

